^Back To Top
foto1 foto2 foto3 foto4 foto5

A province wide society of over 900 members in 23 regional chapters. Whether you are new to trail riding or are a seasoned pro, Back Country Horsemen of BC (BCHBC) offers a friendly atmosphere for those interested in trail riding and packing.

Welcome ...

Back Country Horsemen of British Columbia

 

Upcoming Events

SVI Camps at Valpariso
Sat Aug 26 @ 9:00AM - 12:00AM
South Vancouver Island
Okanagan Chapter Exec Meeting
Tue Sep 05 @ 6:30PM -
Okanagan Chapter
General Meeting
Wed Sep 06 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
SVI rides Sooke
Sat Sep 09 @11:00AM -
South Vancouver Island
Okanagan Chapter General Meeting
Tue Sep 12 @ 6:30PM -
Okanagan Chapter
SVI Monthly Meeting
Fri Sep 15 @ 6:30PM -
South Vancouver Island
Shuswap General Mtg
Tue Sep 19 @ 6:30PM - 09:00PM
Shuswap Chapter
NVI Chapter Meeting
Thu Sep 21 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
North Vancouver Island Chapter
SVI rides at Fuller Lake
Sat Sep 30 @11:00AM -
South Vancouver Island
General Meeting
Wed Oct 04 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
SVI rides Mt Prevost
Sat Oct 07 @11:00AM -
South Vancouver Island
Okanagan Chapter General Meeting
Tue Oct 10 @ 6:30PM -
Okanagan Chapter
Shuswap General Meeting
Wed Oct 18 @ 6:30PM - 09:00PM
Shuswap Chapter
NVI Chapter Meeting
Thu Oct 19 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
North Vancouver Island Chapter
SVI Monthly Meeting
Fri Oct 27 @ 6:30PM -
South Vancouver Island
General Meeting
Wed Nov 01 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
Okanagan Chapter Exec Meeting
Tue Nov 07 @ 6:30PM -
Okanagan Chapter
Okanagan Chapter General Meeting
Tue Nov 14 @ 6:30PM -
Okanagan Chapter
NVI Chapter Meeting
Thu Nov 16 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
North Vancouver Island Chapter
YARROW CHAPTER GENERAL MEETING
Thu Nov 16 @ 7:30PM - 09:30PM
Yarrow Chapter
SVI Monthly Meeting
Fri Nov 17 @ 6:30PM -
South Vancouver Island
General Meeting
Wed Dec 06 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
General Meeting
Wed Jan 03 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
General Meeting
Wed Feb 07 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
General Meeting
Wed Mar 07 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
General Meeting
Wed Apr 04 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
General Meeting
Wed May 02 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
General Meeting
Wed Jun 06 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
General Meeting
Wed Jul 04 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
Thursday, 12 December 2013 11:52

NVI Chapter Makes Front Page News!

News about one of the North Vancouver Island Chapter's trail projects was positioned on the cover of the local newspaper on December 6th. The Comox Valley Echo featured a full colour photograph and a story about how the BCHBC members had worked in collaboration with the Comox Valley Regional District and local land owners to build a new bridge and to extend the historic One Spot Trail -- a multi-use recreational trail in the Dove Creek area of Courtenay, BC. To read the full story on line, click here.
Friday, 29 November 2013 11:09

All for Fun and Fun for All!

  Photo Caption: Kelly Hawes and 'Shimmer' moving the ball through the course.   A great example of what any chapter could do with the BCHBC Education Grant.   by Rose Schroeder   Thanks to all those that turned out for Yarrow Chapter’s Hoofball Fun Day, November 4, 2013 at Blackstock’s Arena in beautiful Greendale, B.C.   Debby D deserves a special thank you for organizing the arena rental and the Hot Dog Pot Luck lunch. Craig, your help was much appreciated in helping set up the course and Kelly H, thanks from bringing in your big, blue hoofball.   It is my personal opinion that Yarrow members have some pretty good horse skills and horses with some pretty good manners! I think along with the fun, there was some learning going on and skills traded. To some the concept of pressure and release was an old/new one! And thinking about…
Monday, 25 November 2013 15:01

NVI Chapter Fundraiser

Photo Caption: (From left to right) Chris Kippel, Dr. Yaela Gleusteen, Sharon Pickthorne, Jesse the horse, and Teg Harper worked together to present the Anatomy and Movement clinic.   On Saturday, November 9, 2013, the North Vancouver Island Chapter of the Back Country Horsemen of BC partnered with the Comox Valley Therapeutic Riding Society to raise funds and educate local equestrians at an Equine Anatomy and Movement Clinic.   The event was held in Therapeutic Riding's 'Barn B' and was attended by over 80 people. It was a chilly day but attendees were warmed by hot soups and chili, as well as other goodies, made by CVTRS volunteers and hot coffee courtesy of BCHBC. There were four Therapeutic Riding horses 'painted' with skeletal structure.   The event was organized by NVI member, Sharon Pickthorne, along with a team of volunteers, and the guest seakers included: CHRIS KIPPEL, Chiropractor TEG HARPER, Trainer Dr.…
Sunday, 13 October 2013 09:35

A Story of a Prairie Girl & a Mountain Boy

Life-long horse enthusiasts and long-time BCHBC members, Patsy (87) and Earl Hobenshield (86) still sit tall in the saddle! For their 40th wedding anniversary did a riding trip in the Spatsizi. For their 65th wedding anniversary they did the Great Caribou Ride. For Earl’s 85th birthday this year, he got a new horse! They just keep doing what they love to do!     By Carol Larson - Northweat Chpater BCHBC          On October 31, 1927, a baby girl was born in Mazanod, Saskatchewan, a rural prairie location only known as a township. Her name was Patsy Parker and she was the daughter of a schoolteacher and farmer/war veteran. Not long after, a baby boy was born to a logger and his wife at Wrinch Memorial Hospital in Hazelton. His name was Earl Hobenshield. Some 20 years later their paths would cross and they would begin a…
Copyrigcht © 2017 Back Country Horsemen of British Columbia