^Back To Top
foto1 foto2 foto3 foto4 foto5

A province wide society of over 900 members in 23 regional chapters. Whether you are new to trail riding or are a seasoned pro, Back Country Horsemen of BC (BCHBC) offers a friendly atmosphere for those interested in trail riding and packing.

Welcome ...

Back Country Horsemen of British Columbia

 

Upcoming Events

SVI Camps at Valpariso
Sat Aug 26 @ 9:00AM - 12:00AM
South Vancouver Island
Okanagan Chapter Exec Meeting
Tue Sep 05 @ 6:30PM -
Okanagan Chapter
General Meeting
Wed Sep 06 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
SVI rides Sooke
Sat Sep 09 @11:00AM -
South Vancouver Island
Okanagan Chapter General Meeting
Tue Sep 12 @ 6:30PM -
Okanagan Chapter
SVI Monthly Meeting
Fri Sep 15 @ 6:30PM -
South Vancouver Island
Shuswap General Mtg
Tue Sep 19 @ 6:30PM - 09:00PM
Shuswap Chapter
NVI Chapter Meeting
Thu Sep 21 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
North Vancouver Island Chapter
SVI rides at Fuller Lake
Sat Sep 30 @11:00AM -
South Vancouver Island
General Meeting
Wed Oct 04 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
SVI rides Mt Prevost
Sat Oct 07 @11:00AM -
South Vancouver Island
Okanagan Chapter General Meeting
Tue Oct 10 @ 6:30PM -
Okanagan Chapter
Shuswap General Meeting
Wed Oct 18 @ 6:30PM - 09:00PM
Shuswap Chapter
NVI Chapter Meeting
Thu Oct 19 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
North Vancouver Island Chapter
SVI Monthly Meeting
Fri Oct 27 @ 6:30PM -
South Vancouver Island
General Meeting
Wed Nov 01 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
Okanagan Chapter Exec Meeting
Tue Nov 07 @ 6:30PM -
Okanagan Chapter
Okanagan Chapter General Meeting
Tue Nov 14 @ 6:30PM -
Okanagan Chapter
NVI Chapter Meeting
Thu Nov 16 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
North Vancouver Island Chapter
YARROW CHAPTER GENERAL MEETING
Thu Nov 16 @ 7:30PM - 09:30PM
Yarrow Chapter
SVI Monthly Meeting
Fri Nov 17 @ 6:30PM -
South Vancouver Island
General Meeting
Wed Dec 06 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
General Meeting
Wed Jan 03 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
General Meeting
Wed Feb 07 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
General Meeting
Wed Mar 07 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
General Meeting
Wed Apr 04 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
General Meeting
Wed May 02 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
General Meeting
Wed Jun 06 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter
General Meeting
Wed Jul 04 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Aldergrove Chapter

Yarrow Chapter at it again!

Late March saw Yarrows core group of hard working, valuable volunteers out in Chilliwack Lake Provincial Park once again. In order to keep the horse trail (also part of the TCT (Trans Canada Trail) useable by horses and hikers, the slippery suspension bridge deck (we live and ride in a rainforest!) needed some expanded metal laid down. Yarrow bought the metal and got permission to use a quad and trailer to get it to the bridge. In short order it was tacked down and the volunteers retired to the lake for a picnic lunch. Tomorrow would be the day to see how the horse and mules would cross the metal grip.

My bet was Johns mules would balk but they walked across like it had always been there!! Never can tell with mules. Another 3/4 hour ride brought us to the site of the turnpike. We needed to finish the last 50 feet. Labour intensive work...loading gravel into the wheel barrow that Johns mule, BobbySue had packed in, man handling it down the slope and dumping it between the rails. All volunteers pitching in to lend a hand to get the task done. Now both hikers and stock alike can walk through the this swampy side slope staying high and dry! Hats off and a pat on the back to Yarrow chapters valuable volunteers...you did it again!

Written by: Rose Schroeder Photos by: Hugh Martell

 

DSC 6568rs

 

DSC 6577rs

 

DSC 6590rs
 

 

 

Copyrigcht © 2017 Back Country Horsemen of British Columbia